The Thing Makers

A work in progress…. Below, you’ll find updated contributor’s notes (and pertinent links) on the authors presently (or soon-to-be) featured on the website.

Jamey Bradbury is an SIUE alum who lives and writes in Anchorage, Alaska.  Her work has appeared in Black Warrior Review and Zone 3.

Gabrielle Calvocoressi is the author of Apocalyptic Swing (Persea, 2009). Her numerous awards and fellowships include a Stegner Fellowship and a Rona Jaffe Writers’ Award. Her first collection, The Last Time I Saw Amelia Earhart (Persea, 2005), won the Connecticut Book Award. She also writes the Sports Desk column for The Best American Poetry blog and is the Virtual Editor for Broadsided Press. She tweets @broadsidedpress. She is on the advisory board of The Rumpus’ Poetry Book Club. She lives in Los Angeles.

Oliver de la Paz is the author of three books of poetry: Names Above Houses, Furious Lullaby, and Requiem for the Orchard. He co-edited the anthology A Face to Meet the Faces: An Anthology of Contemporary Persona Poetry with Stacey Lynn Brown, and serves as the co-chair of the Kundiman advisory board. He teaches at Western Washington University.

Joseph Levens has appeared in Sou’wester numerous times, and his unpublished short story collection, which contains many pieces first appearing in this magazine, was a finalist in the 2010 Bakeless Prize for fiction. He is editor of The Summerset Review and lives in Smithtown, New York.

Kyle Minor is the author of In the Devil’s Territory, a collection of stories and novellas, and a frequent contributor to Sou’wester. Recent stories and essays appear in The Southern Review, Gulf Coast, Ninth Letter, The Gettysburg Review, Arts & Letters, and Best American Mystery Stories. He’s at work on a novel titled The Sexual Lives of Missionaries.

Lee Sharkey is the author, most recently, of Calendars of Fire (forthcoming, Tupelo Press) and A Darker, Sweeter String (Off the Grid Press). Her poems have appeared in Drunken Boat, Field, Nimrod, Prairie Schooner, The Seattle Review, and other journals. She is the co-editor of the Beloit Poetry Journal.

Anthony Varallo is the author of two story collections, Out Loud and This Day in History. He has received an NEA Fellowship in Literature, and his stories have appeared in The Gettysburg Review, New England Review, Epoch, American Short Fiction, and elsewhere.

Kellie Wells is the author of a collection of short fiction, Compression Scars, winner of the Flannery O’Connor Award, and a novel, Skin. She teaches in the Program in Creative Writing at the University of Alabama and in the low-residency MFA program at Pacific University.